Fintech: Regulating today the financial technologies of tomorrow

*This poster is only available in French.

DESCRIPTION

Like so many other sectors in recent years, the finance industry is being rushed into the technological shift. Financial institutions, investors, regulators and software providers are engaged in structural changes that are shaping the finance of today and tomorrow. In a broad sense, these financial technologies are referred to as Fintech. Although some of these technologies are no longer new to the field, the use and development of these Fintech continue to grow. The interest of the financial and banking world in these technologies is reinforced by the emergence of new tools that open up possibilities that are sometimes unprecedented and that make it possible, in principle, to reshape and, sometimes, optimise existing processes, affecting all financial players in the process.

However, these financial technologies raise complex technological and legal issues. These include the processing and security of often sensitive data, the regulation of Fintech, the democratisation of access to stock markets, which sometimes affects their volatility, and the emerging technical standards by which the players in the field try to counter as much as possible the multiple risks inherent in technologies and data sharing. 

This first series, combining conferences and industry webinars, aims to present a critical and practical view of Fintech. On one hand, we will explore the scientific perspective from the perspectives of law and computer science in particular, in order to identify how these disciplines respond to the challenges posed by Fintech. On the other hand, we have solicited the intervention of industry players in the fields of finance and Fintech, in order to examine the practical application of theoretical solutions. This approach will allow us to address various topics, such as the Canadian regulation of Fintechs, financial data processing, AI behavioural science in finance, financial standards, monetary sovereignty and many others.

 

CONFERENCES

Title Speaker Date Information
&
Registration
Emerging Crypto-Asset Jurisdictional Uncertainties and Regulatory Gaps Dr Ryan Clements, Chair - Business Law & Regulation, University of Calgary November 10, 2021  🔗Link
Taking Privacy Seriously: Design and Regulation of Digital Flat Currency Pr Rohan Grey, Willamette University January 24,  2022 🔗Link
FinTechs et sécurité : risques et perspectives Qohash & Station FinTech February 8, 2022 🔗Link
Flinks | La portabilité des données financières : un nouveau paradigme à impact élevé Dominique Samson, Chief Operating Officer  - Flinks March 31,  2022 🔗Link
Les technonormativités financières Pr Marina Teller (Université Côte d’Azur), Director of the Chaire 3I.A. "Droit Économique et I.A." September 29,  2022 -

This content has been updated on 03/01/2022 at 8 h 23 min.

Fintech: Réguler aujourd’hui les technologies financières de demain

DESCRIPTION

Comme tant d’autres secteurs ces dernières années, le secteur de la finance est précipité dans le virage technologique. Les institutions financières, investisseurs, régulateurs et fournisseurs de logiciels sont engagés dans des changements structurants qui façonnent la finance d’aujourd’hui et de demain. Dans un sens large, on réfère à ces technologies liées à la finance sous le vocable de Fintech. Bien que certaines technologies ne soient plus si nouvelles dans le domaine, l’utilisation de ces Fintech et leur développement ne cessent de croître. L’intérêt du milieu financier et bancaire pour ces technologies est renforcé par l’émergence de nouveaux outils qui ouvrent des possibilités parfois inédites et qui permettent, en principe, de remodeler et, parfois, d’optimiser les processus existants, affectant au passage tous les acteurs financiers.

Or, ces technologies financières soulèvent, tant sur le plan technologique que sur le plan juridique des enjeux complexes. On pense notamment au traitement et à la sécurité des données financières souvent sensibles, à la régulation des Fintech, à la démocratisation de l’accès aux marchés boursiers affectant parfois la volatilité de ces derniers, ou encore aux normes techniques émergentes par lesquelles les acteurs du milieu tentent de parer autant que possible aux multiples risques inhérents aux technologies et au partage de données. 

Ce cycle, combinant des conférences et des rencontres de l’industrie, a pour but de présenter une vision à la fois critique et pratique des Fintech. D’une part, nous explorerons la perspective scientifique des points de vue du droit et des sciences informatiques afin de révéler comment ces disciplines répondent aux défis posés par les Fintech. D’autre part, nous avons sollicité l’intervention d’acteurs de l’industrie des domaines de la finance et des Fintechs, afin d’examiner l’application pratique de solutions a priori théoriques. Cette approche plurielle permet d’aborder des sujets divers, tels que la régulation canadienne des Fintech, le traitement des données financières, la science comportementale de l’IA en matière financière, les normes financières, la souveraineté monétaire et plusieurs autres.

CONFÉRENCES

TitreConférencierDateInformations
&
Inscriptions
Emerging Crypto-Asset Jurisdictional Uncertainties and Regulatory GapsDr. Ryan Clements, Chair – Business Law & Regulation, University of Calgary10 novembre 2021🔗Lien
Taking Privacy Seriously: Design and Regulation of Digital Flat CurrencyPr. Rohan Grey, Willamette University24 janvier 2022🔗Lien
FinTechs et sécurité : risques et perspectivesQohash & Station FinTech8 février 2022🔗Lien
Flinks | La portabilité des données financières : un nouveau paradigme à impact élevé Dominique Samson, Chef des opérations – Flinks31 mars 2022 🔗Lien
Les technonormativités financièresPre. Marina Teller (Université Côte d’Azur), Directrice de la Chaire 3I.A. « Droit Économique et I.A. »29 septembre 2022

Ce contenu a été mis à jour le 1 mars 2022 à 8 h 23 min.