ISA

ISA is a software module that facilitates the use of technology both in courtrooms (computer and audiovisual tools) and for the presentation of evidence (access to the electronic clerk, annotation sharing tools, etc.) for all the stakeholders of a hearing, whether it is the clerk, the judge or the parties.

With a simple interface and automatic mobile home, each stakeholder is able to access an interface that enables them to control the courtroom (camera, microphone, display, sound, annotation, court record, etc.) from a computer or tablet, locally or through a network.

Functions

Lawyer: ISA allows the lawyer to access the documents filed in the electronic registry, to present these documents on the courtroom screens or on screens used by stakeholders in other locations, to share these documents with other stakeholders, to manage annotations (yield the right of annotation, store the annotations of each user, etc.) and interrogations.

Clerk:  ISA allows the clerk to control the right to speak, the entirety of the courtroom equipment (cameras, microphones, computers, monitors, etc.), the deposit and the qualification of evidence at the hearing.  A comprehensive records management system for the hearing and the annotation of audiovisual recordings from the hearing is also available to the clerk.  These recordings are them created and archived in electronic registry.

Functions in the Process of Development

Jury:  The Laboratory is currently working on an adaptation of ISA to address the needs of jury trials.  ISA will include a special panel through which jury members can access the evidence as well as a panel that allows them to manage deliberations, which will include a system from managing and sharing annotations.

Remote Participation:  ISA is adapted to manage the participation of remote stakeholder so as to share information with these individuals.  The Laboratory is currently developing an online waiting area so as to prepare the remote participants such as to allow the clerk to ensure their participation in the hearing.

Note

Note that ISA can be just as well adapted to a courtroom equipped with cutting edge technology as to a courtroom that is minimally equipped with one or more display screens and computers.

Availability

ISA au LaboISA is functional and available in the courtroom of the Cyberjustice Laboratory.  For several years it has served to animate the various forums held in this room, be it summer school activities, historical processes, judicial review requests or moot court contests.  The image to the left demonstrates the use of ISA by the courtroom clerk.

Updated the 09/19/2016 at 11 h 19 min.

ISA – Interface de salle d’audience

ISA est un module logiciel qui facilite l’utilisation des technologies dans les salles d’audience (outils informatiques et audiovisuels) et la présentation de la preuve (accès au greffe électronique, outils de partage d’annotation, etc.) pour les intervenants à une audience, que ce soit le greffier, le juge ou les parties.

Grâce à une interface simple et mobile de domotique, chaque acteur est en mesure d’accéder à une interface lui permettant de contrôler la salle d’audience (caméra, micro, affichage, son, annotation, dossier judiciaire, etc.) à partir d’un ordinateur ou d’une tablette, localement ou en réseau.

Picture1

Fonctionnalités

Avocat : ISA permet à l’avocat d’accéder aux documents déposés dans le greffe électronique, de présenter ces documents sur les écrans d’une salle d’audience ou sur les écrans utilisés par les intervenants délocalisés, de partager ces documents avec les autres intervenants, de gérer les annotations (céder le droit d’annotation, conserver les annotations en fonction de chacun des utilisateurs, etc.) et les interrogatoires.

Greffier : ISA permet au greffier de contrôler les droits de parole, l’ensemble de l’équipement de la salle d’audience (caméras, microphone, ordinateurs, écrans, etc.), le dépôt et la qualification de preuve à l’audience. Lui est également disponible un système intégral de gestion des procès-verbaux d’audience et d’annotation des enregistrements audiovisuels de l’audience. Ces enregistrements sont par la suite versés et archivés au sein du greffe électronique.

Fonctionnalité en cour de développement

Jury : Le Laboratoire travaille en ce moment à l’adaptation de ISA pour répondre aux besoins de procès avec jury. ISA comprendra un volet d’accès à la preuve par les membres du jury ainsi qu’un volet gestion de la délibération par le jury, avec notamment un système de gestion et partage des annotations.

Participation à distance : ISA est adapté pour gérer la participation des acteurs délocalisés afin notamment de partager des informations avec eux. Le Laboratoire est en train de développer un espace d’attente en ligne afin de préparer les participants délocalisés de manière à permettre au greffier de s’assurer de leur participation à l’audience.

Note

Notez qu’ISA s’adapte aussi bien à une salle d’audience équipée à la fine pointe de la technologie qu’à une salle d’audience minimalement équipée d’un ou plusieurs écrans de présentation et d’ordinateurs.

Disponibilité

ISA au LaboISA est fonctionnelle et disponible à la salle d’audience du Laboratoire de cyberjustice. Depuis plusieurs années, elle sert à animer les diverses instances tenues dans cette salle, que ce soit des activités d’école d’été, de procès historique, de demande de contrôle judiciaire ou de concours de plaidoirie. L’image à droite démontre l’utilisation d’ISA par le greffier de la salle.

Mis à jour le 4 mai 2016 à 14 h 49 min.