Case Management System

The electronic clerk is a Web application that enables the management of the judiciary chain. It is very flexible and adaptable in that it allows for the creation of a court file as well as allowing several categories of users to be associated with that file and follow its evolution throughout the legal process. The electronic clerk is essentially broken up into a number of modules that work both together and separately to enable the management of most of the aspects of the life cycle of a court case without obliging the use of paper files, although this remains a possibility.

Functions

The electronic clerk is a court file management application which allows for the management of the parties, their representatives as well as enables the electronic filing of documents, along with the following functions:

  1. File creation: list of the parties and their representatives, type of procedure, permits the electronic filing of documents.
  2. File management: configures the ensemble of attributes, rights and elements relating to the file.
  3. Plans regarding the management of the hearing: planning of the hearing and the information that will be used.
  4. Management of the hearing itself: management of the verbal process of the hearing, of the list of witnesses and evidence, in connection with ISA.
  5. Consolidation of files: lists both court files as well as ISA recordings in an archived format, with metadata so as to facilitate searches.

1. Creation of Files

greffe1This module serves to begin a judicial procedure by defining the type of procedure in question as well as associate the case with the relevant parties and their respective representatives. Additionally, it permits the parties to electronically submit their procedures and documents.

After authenticating their identities, users are attributed a particular role that endows them will various rights of access depending on their positions as well as the management policy identified by the file. These users can then search, consult and modify the documents that are submitted from any device whatsoever via the Internet.

2. Management of Files and Associated Parties

greffe2This module allows for the definition of a policy regarding the management of rights of access to the files.

The parties, lawyers, clerk, bailiff and judge will each be provided with different levels of access based on the nature of the document and the phase of the process.

For example, here is the interface of the clerk that consults the documents submitted through the previous module of electronic filing. This viewing screen allows them to quickly see all the documents relating to the case and to find the ones that they are looking for.

 

3.1. Case Management Planning – Agreement on the Progress of Proceedings

This module permits lawyers to:greffe3

  • negotiate and conclude the terms of the schedule regarding the progress of the proceedings online
  • generate a PDF copy transmit a copy to the Court
  • notify third parties of the proceedings (i.e.: witnesses or experts)
  • synchronize their electronic agendas

 

 

3.2. Case Management Planning – The Court Clerk’s Portal

This module consists of a useful tool for the preparation of a hearing as well as all the information that will be used throughout the process. It facilitates interactions between the public and the Court clerk’s services through a simple portal that is integrated within the system. A clerk or a judge can easily consult the uploaded information from their account to the extent that is permitted to them by the access management system. It also permits the conservation of the information that will be produced so that it may be reused for any other purposes.

MEASURES

Offers services to individuals and lawyers such that it is possible for them to:

  • consult the hearing rolls
  • online payment of tickets, various fees and judicial stamps
  • consultation and follow-up of files
  • address the court clerk with various demands through forms available online
  • register or modify a pleading (in the process of development)
  • demand the electronic divulgation of evidence (in the process of development)
  • systems that sends reminders via e-mail or text message when presence is required or steps must be taken in the procedure of the case (in the process of development)
  • electronic signification of procedures and legal opinions (in the process of development)
  • choice of hearing date for certain types of files (in the process of development)

 

OBJECTIVES

In order to accomplish this, the system is seeking to develop:

  • the dematerialisation of Court files and documents
  • the reduction of mailings
  • increase of electronic interactions with police services and other governmental organizations
  • electronic signature and oath
  • fully automated case tracking and reminders to affected stakeholders and partners:
    • Management of the planning and monitoring of hearings
    • Monitoring due dates
    • Enforcement of judgments
  • automatic production of reports and indicators
  • management of the presence of witnesses by service terminals

 

4. Management of the Hearing – ISA: Hearing Room Interface

This module facilitates the use of technology both in courtrooms (computer and audiovisual tools) and for the presentation of evidence (access to the electronic clerk, annotation sharing tools, etc.) for the stakeholders at the hearing, whether it is the clerk, the judge or the parties.

With a simple interface and automatic mobile home, each stakeholder is able to access an interface that enables them to control the courtroom (camera, microphone, display, sound, annotation, court record, etc.) from a computer or tablet, locally or through a network.

For more information regarding the specific feature of ISA.

5. Consolidation of Court Files – Metadata Management

greffe5The information that will have been added to the court record will be consolidation at the end of the trial. This module allows for the definition and categorization of the information resulting from the recording of a hearing for indexing purposes.

To this end, the metadata management tool generates an XML file containing all the metadata generated during the recording of the hearing. This allows for the classification, archiving and retrieval of all the digital court records, including digital audio records (audio and/pr video) that are associated with it.

This content has been updated on 01/17/2017 at 14 h 15 min.

Greffe électronique

Le greffe électronique est une application Web permettant de gérer une chaine judiciaire. Très flexible et adaptable, ce greffe électronique permet de créer un dossier judiciaire, d’y associer diverses catégories d’utilisateurs et de suivre son évolution au fil d’un processus judiciaire. Concrètement, le greffe se décompose en un ensemble de modules fonctionnant ensemble ou séparément qui mis bout-à-bout permettent de gérer la plupart des aspects du cycle de vie d’un dossier judiciaire, sans devoir utiliser le papier, mais en gardant la possibilité de le faire.

Fonctionnalités

Le greffe électronique est une application de gestion de dossiers judiciaires, incluant la gestion des parties, de leurs représentants, ainsi que le dépôt électronique de documents, regroupant entre les fonctions suivantes :

  1. Création des dossiers : liste des parties et représentants, type de procédure, permet le dépôt de documents à distance.
  2. Gestion des dossiers : configuration de l’ensemble des attributs, droits et éléments se rapportant à un dossier.
  3. Gestion de la planification de l’audience : planification du déroulement l’audience et des informations qui y seront utilisées.
  4. Gestion de l’audience en tant que telle : gestion du procès-verbal d’audience, de la liste des témoins et des preuves, en connexion avec ISA.
  5. Consolidation des dossiers : répertorie les dossiers de la cour ainsi que les enregistrements d’ISA dans un format d’archivage, avec métadonnées pour faciliter la recherche.

1. Création de dossiers

greffe1Ce module sert à amorcer une procédure judiciaire en définissant le type de procédure et en y associant les parties et leurs représentants respectifs. Dans un deuxième temps, il permet aux parties de déposer leurs procédures et leurs documents de façon électronique.

Après s’être authentifiés, les utilisateurs se voient attribuer un rôle et des droits d’accès variables selon leur qualité et la politique de gestion des droits d’accès aux dossiers prédéfinie. Ces utilisateurs peuvent ensuite rechercher, consulter et modifier les documents qui y sont déposés, à partir de n’importe quel appareil avec accès Internet.

2. Gestion des dossiers et des parties au dossier

greffe2Ce module permet de définir la politique de gestion des droits d’accès aux dossiers.

Les parties, les avocats, le greffier, l’huissier et le juge se verront conférer des accès différents, selon la nature des documents et la phase du procès.

À titre d’exemple, voici l’interface du greffier qui consulte les documents déposés à travers le module précédent de dépôt électronique. Cette vue d’ensemble permet de visualiser rapidement tous les documents au dossier et de retrouver celui qu’on recherche.

3.1. Gestion de la planification de l’audience – Entente sur le déroulement de l’instance

Ce module permet aux avocats :

greffe3

  • de négocier et de conclure en ligne les termes de l’échéancier sur le déroulement de l’instance
  • d’en générer une copie au format PDF et d’en transmettre une copie à la Cour
  • de notifier des tiers des procédures (ex. : témoins ou experts)
  • de synchroniser leurs agendas électroniques en conséquence

3.2.    Gestion de la planification de l’audience – Le portail du greffe de Cour

Ce module constitue un outil efficace pour préparer une audience et l’ensemble des informations qui seront utilisées au cours de celle-ci. Il facilite les interactions du public avec les services de greffe de la Cour, à travers un portail simple s’intégrant à l’ensemble du système. Un greffier ou un juge pourrait aisément consulter les informations téléversées à partir de leur compte et selon les accès qui leur sont dévolus à travers le système de gestion des accès. Il permet dans un deuxième temps de conserver l’information qui y sera produite pour la réutiliser à toute autre fin.

MESURES

Permet d’offrir des services aux justiciables et aux avocats, où serait possible :

  • consultation des rôles d’audiences
  • paiement en ligne de constats d’infractions, de frais divers, et de timbres de justice
  • consultation et suivi de dossier
  • adresser diverses demandes au greffe de la cour à travers des formulaires préconçus en ligne
  • enregistrement ou modification d’un plaidoyer (en développement)
  • demande divulgation de la preuve par voie électronique (en développement)
  • système de rappel des présences requises ou étapes du dossier par courriel ou SMS (en développement)
  • signification électronique de procédures et d’avis légaux (en développement)
  • choix d’une date d’audition pour certains types de dossiers (en développement)

OBJECTIFS

Pour ce faire, le système vise à accomplir, à terme (donc, en développement) :

  • la dématérialisation des dossiers et documents de la Cour.
  • diminution des envois postaux
  • augmentation des interactions mécanisées avec les services de police et autres organes gouvernementaux
  • signature et assermentation numériques
  • automatisation complète du suivi des dossiers et des rappels aux intervenants et partenaires touchés :
    • Gestion de la planification et du suivi des auditions
    • Suivi des délais
    • Exécution des jugements
  • production automatisée de rapports et d’indicateurs
  • gestion de la présence des témoins par bornes de service

4.    Gestion de l’audience – ISA : Interface de salle d’audience

Ce module facilite l’utilisation des technologies dans les salles d’audience (outils informatiques et audiovisuels) et la présentation de la preuve (accès au greffe électronique, outils de partage d’annotation, etc.) pour les intervenants à une audience, que ce soit le greffier, le juge ou les parties.

Grâce à une interface simple et mobile de domotique, chaque acteur est en mesure d’accéder à une interface lui permettant de contrôler la salle d’audience (caméra, micro, affichage, son, annotation, dossier judiciaire, etc.) à partir d’un ordinateur ou d’une tablette, localement ou en réseau.

Pour de plus amples informations sur les fonctionnalités propres à ISA.

5.    Consolidation du dossier de la Cour – Gestion des métadonnées

greffe5Les informations qui auront été ajoutées au dossier judiciaire seront consolidées à l’issue du procès. Ce module permet de définir et de catégoriser l’information résultant de l’enregistrement d’une audience, à des fins d’indexation.

À cet effet, l’outil de gestion des métadonnées génère un fichier XML contenant l’ensemble des métadonnées générées lors de l’enregistrement de l’audience. Ceci permet la classification, l’archivage et la recherche de tous les dossiers numériques de la Cour, y compris les enregistrements audionumériques (fil audio et/ou vidéo) qui y sont associés.

Mis à jour le 4 mai 2016 à 14 h 26 min.